Chocolate Chip Cookies…every blog needs a post…

9 Oct

Chocolate Chip Cookies

It seems to me that every blog…no matter the blog content…has a chocolate chip cookie post.  Here is the thing…my oldest daughter has a serious dairy allergy.  So I have experimented with many, many (did I say many?) chocolate chip cookie recipes.  This one is our favorite.  Because we have been through so many I am not sure where I got this from…I won’t lie and tell you I made it up…because I didn’t.

This little one is my biggest helper when it comes to baking.  She loves chocolate and, well, I find it necessary to put chocolate chips in almost everything, so she sticks around until I open the bag and chips explode everywhere.

 

Once in a while, if the TV is off, my oldest comes around to help too…she likes the chocolate chip part as well.

Who doesn’t love chocolate chip cookies?  In the oven they bake…

Even though, as a stay at home mom, I am usually sitting around with my feet up…I sometimes have laundry to fold, a bum to wipe (or a nose), diaper to change or heated discussion to dissolve.  This is what happens:

Burnt cookies.  Good thing this recipe makes a lot of dough.     

Much better.  Here is the best part…this recipe is so good that the burnt ones are yummy too.  So hide them in a zip lock and when the kids go to bed…dunk them in milk (almond, soy, goat, whole…I won’t judge you), and eat away!!!  You hid them…so no one will know how many you eat anyway!

 

Chocolate Chip Cookies (the best)

2 and ½ sticks of butter*

1 and ¼ C brown sugar

1C sugar

2 eggs

2tsp vanilla

3 and 2/3 C flour

2 Tbl corn starch

1 and ¼ tsp baking soda

1 and ½ tsp baking powder

1 and ½ tsp salt

2 C chocolate chips

Cream the butter and sugar.  Beat in the eggs and vanilla.  Add the dry ingredients, mix.  Then stir in chips.  Bake about 12 minutes at 350 degrees.  Side note…I heard somewhere that a chocolate chip cookie is done when the edges are slightly brown and the middle still looks a bit under-cooked.  enjoy!!!

*If you read closely above, you know we cannot use butter, any amount, none at all.  So we use Earth Balance Sticks.  I am quite sure butter would taste good too…though I am having trouble remembering what real butter tastes like 🙂

-carrie

Leave a Reply

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

Dru Christine : Hustle & Sew

"Passion fuels Champions"

Buy American Challenge

A Blog About Buying American and Why It's So Important. Official Blog of the Buy American Movement.

Lipstick and Anissa

A beauty and fashion blog for the sassy working girl.

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The Ides of March

Inspiration for a fashionable life...

Rubys N Purls

Finding Life's Little Gems Along the Way!

verrrdeliving

Living an eco and fashionable life

All I Never Wanted To Be Was A Stay-At-Home Mom

Once growing in a career as a full-time marketing communications professional, now chasing my dream to build a freelance venture while juggling the art of being a stay-at-home-mom.

The Life Styled

Where life and fashion go hand in hand.

VINTAGE REFLECTION

By Amy Purfield-Clark

