The Descendant – A Vampire Novel Made in the USA!

16 Nov

Clothing isn’t the only thing made in the USA on the MIUS blog today!

My name is Kelley Grealis and I am the author of THE DESCENDANT – a vampire novel that was created in the US of A and is proud to support other local businesses!

When Millie asked me if I’d be interested in guest blogging, I immediately said yes!  In keeping with the spirit of MIUS, I’d like to share with you a little bit about my Made in the USA novel and the other local businesses that I support.

On May 24, I independently published my debut novel, The Descendant.  Since I’m a lifetime resident of Northeast Ohio, by default that means my novel is a USA original!  It is dubbed a vampire tale of biblical proportions and reveals the biblical origin of the vampire through the experiences of a woman who discovers that she is a descendant of the first vampire.  You can learn more at: http://www.kelleygrealis.com. The site, by the way, was designed and built by a talented friend of mine located in NYC.  Cori also has her own blog and if you’d like to see some of the cool art projects she’s working on, check out http://myarttoinspire.com/ (she designed that site, too)!

When it came to publishing and marketing my book, it was important for me to support US and local businesses.  I won’t bore you with the stats; we’ve all heard them before, but supporting local business is good for the local economy.  The money stays in the area and is re-invested into the company, supports local workers and increases the local tax base.  So why wouldn’t I support local?  It’s like supporting the home team!

I turned to Amazon’s CreateSpace service to format and create my paperback.  Okay, I know what you are thinking!  Amazon isn’t located in Ohio.  But Amazon is an American company and the project team that I worked with was based in Seattle and my paperbacks are printed in Charleston, SC!  I also utilized Smashwords to format my manuscript to be compatible with all other e-readers. Smashwords is a California based company.

My book cover was designed by A BCD Creative, a graphic design company located in University Heights, OH that was founded by a high school friend and his wife.  Seriously, if you need anything designed or a website, check them out!  http://abcdcreative.com/

I turned to another local company, Icandi Graphics, to print bookmarks, business cards and other marketing materials for book signing events (table cloth, bumper stickers, t-shirts, etc).  Icandi is a graphics and screen-printing company based in Medina, OH that was started by friends.  They’re also super good at what they do and easy to work with.  Check them out too if you need any t-shirts, posters or stickers!  http://www.icandigraphics.com/

So when you are lounging around in your MIUS lounge wear and reading The Descendant, know that you aren’t only supporting Millie and me but many more local businesses!

Follow Kelley on Twitter @KelleyGrealis or on Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/TheDescendantbyKelleyGrealis

Leave a Reply

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

Dru Christine : Hustle & Sew

"Passion fuels Champions"

Buy American Challenge

A Blog About Buying American and Why It's So Important. Official Blog of the Buy American Movement.

Lipstick and Anissa

A beauty and fashion blog for the sassy working girl.

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The Ides of March

Inspiration for a fashionable life...

Rubys N Purls

Finding Life's Little Gems Along the Way!

verrrdeliving

Living an eco and fashionable life

All I Never Wanted To Be Was A Stay-At-Home Mom

Once growing in a career as a full-time marketing communications professional, now chasing my dream to build a freelance venture while juggling the art of being a stay-at-home-mom.

The Life Styled

Where life and fashion go hand in hand.

VINTAGE REFLECTION

By Amy Purfield-Clark

