The Thanksgiving formal-casual-ish wear

19 Nov

I love Thanksgiving week…not only because it is a short work week for some of us, but it also means we have a little “extra” time to spend with family, we gather around a table to give “Thanks”  for all.  For me, it means we get to pass our holiday traditions to our younger generations (our kids).    What is interesting in our family is that we have two different traditions at our house.  My husband is use to a very laid back and casual Thanksgiving. However, I grew up in a family that makes this holiday a very religious and formal event where the fine china comes out, nice wine and all the decor with the table and we all dress up in our “Sunday’s best.”  We actually celebrate our Thanksgiving day at my in-law’s house, and we keep a little on the casual-ish’ side. I say “casual-ish” because I still like to insert some of my religious and formal side into the celebration day.  So these two traditions have somewhat merged over the years and cause a fashion conundrum in me, and I am always torn between wearing a dress or just jeans and a tee.  So in the last few years…I have decided to do a mix…

Here’s my take on the Thanksgiving formal-casual-ish wear…

Image

I love capes and leggings! I think they are comfy and give me such warm cozy feel!  I bling-ed them up by adding the sequin sweater.  I also LOVE the plaid cape.  So I was torn… either way they are fabulous options.  You can wear with leggings or skinny jeans.

What did I use on this board??

Sequin Sweater: http://www.miuscollection.com/Breathtaking-Sequin-SweaterPoncho_p_137.html

Ponte Leggings: http://www.miuscollection.com/Ponte-Legging-with-Leather_p_141.html

Wrap Watch: http://www.miuscollection.com/St-Tropez-Canary-Yellow-_p_198.html

stackable leather rings: http://www.miuscollection.com/Leather-ring-with-gold-tube-wine_p_98.html

square band: http://www.miuscollection.com/Square-shape-band-gold-_p_94.html

Shoes: piperlime.com

Are your family traditions formal or more casual? What do you wear for your Thanksgiving celebration?  You can send us pictures of your outfit and we’ll post!

One Response to “The Thanksgiving formal-casual-ish wear”

  1. Kelley November 19, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I love, love, love the leggings! Cute outfit.

Leave a Reply

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

Dru Christine : Hustle & Sew

"Passion fuels Champions"

Buy American Challenge

A Blog About Buying American and Why It's So Important. Official Blog of the Buy American Movement.

Lipstick and Anissa

A curated reservoir of beauty and more...

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The Ides of March

Inspiration for a fashionable life...

Rubys N Purls

Finding Life's Little Gems Along the Way!

verrrdeliving

Living an eco and fashionable life

All I Never Wanted To Be Was A Stay-At-Home Mom

Once growing in a career as a full-time marketing communications professional, now chasing my dream to build a freelance venture while juggling the art of being a stay-at-home-mom.

The Life Styled

Where life and fashion go hand in hand.

