¡Feliz Navidad! – A Puerto Rican Christmas Tradition

20 Dec

The MiUS blog is a collection of content about American made clothing and the American lifestyle.  Our blog is filled with features not only on hot trends and styles, but also great cooking tips and organization tricks, and full of relevant conversations about everyday American life and fashion.  So…in this post, I want to share something a little more personal than my clothing or hot trends. Today, I will share a piece of my American lifestyle.

First, you should know that I grew up in a small island in the Caribbean, Puerto Rico. I have called Ohio my home for now 25 years. However, I have a strong sense of my cultural roots and background, so I still celebrate some holidays with a very Latin style. I wanted to share some of these “food” traditions with you as they are not only yummy, but a part of who I am and what makes me an American with Hispanic roots.

To me, Christmas Day smells like this:

Pasteles

Pasteles

The picture above, I  should confess, I borrowed from my cousin Tony because he is passionate enough to make this very labor intensive yet lovely dish.  They are called “Pasteles” and basically it is a Tamale made of root vegetables stuffed with pork, potatoes, olives,etc.  I think every Puerto Rican family has their “secret” ingredient in their family recipe for Pasteles.  Pasteles are possibly the most significant dish in all of the cooking of Puerto Rico (PR). These are no doubt, a production of love and, to me, it brings back memories of making them during the holidays with my Abuela as a child.

73475_1511001978555_385457_n293060_3901087329195_1378299815_n

Pictures again I borrowed from Tony 😉 He makes some seriously delicious food at his house!  I love to cook too, but i have not mastered the art of Puerto Rican cooking yet.  So the top is arroz con gandules (Rice with Pigeon Peas),  and lechon (PR roast pork) these are both staples in the holiday plate.   My mouth is watering as I write this post!

coquito Screen-Shot-2012-11-28-at-12.31.13-PM

Ok…finally, these pictures I took myself, I know how to make a killer coquito (PR Egg Nog) and I will share this recipe with you as it is one of the best holiday drinks EVER!!   You don’t have to add the Rum, but I do!

INGREDIENTS:
2 egg yolks, beaten
1 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk
1 (14 ounce) can cream of coconut
1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup white rum (Puerto Rican Rum preferably 😉 )
1/2 cup water
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
DIRECTIONS:
1. In the top of a double boiler, combine egg yolks and evaporated milk. Stirring constantly, cook over lightly simmering water until mixture reaches a temperature of 160 degrees F. The mixture should be thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.
2. Transfer mixture to a blender, and add cream of coconut, sweetened condensed milk, rum, water, cloves, cinnamon, and vanilla. Blend for about 30 seconds. Pour into glass bottles, and chill overnight.

Enjoy! AND please drink it responsibly! LOL  From my home to yours we wish you a wonderful holiday!!  ¡Feliz Navidad!

So…those are the flavors of my culture.  Do you have any cultural traditions you celebrate in your home?

P.S.  We are running a promotion at MiUS that gets you FREE shipping on all orders until 12/31/12.  Use code: ShipFree12

One Response to “¡Feliz Navidad! – A Puerto Rican Christmas Tradition”

  1. Antonio L. Lopez December 20, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    LOVELY

Leave a Reply

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

Dru Christine : Hustle & Sew

"Passion fuels Champions"

Buy American Challenge

A Blog About Buying American and Why It's So Important. Official Blog of the Buy American Movement.

Lipstick and Anissa

A beauty and fashion blog for the sassy working girl.

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The Ides of March

Inspiration for a fashionable life...

Rubys N Purls

Finding Life's Little Gems Along the Way!

verrrdeliving

Living an eco and fashionable life

All I Never Wanted To Be Was A Stay-At-Home Mom

Once growing in a career as a full-time marketing communications professional, now chasing my dream to build a freelance venture while juggling the art of being a stay-at-home-mom.

The Life Styled

Where life and fashion go hand in hand.

VINTAGE REFLECTION

By Amy Purfield-Clark

