A Jewelry Addict’s Organization Tips

11 Apr

In previous posts I have admitted my weakness and obsession with anything that adorns the body (i.e. necklaces, bracelets, earrings, pins, etc).  My compulsion to buy such items (at any time) has lead me to a serious storage issue.  I have now outgrown 3 jewelry boxes, so it was time to re-organize my pretties!! I was crumbling for hours trying to find a way so that they look nice and not messy.  I realized I am not the only one ever came across with this, so here I share some tips. Happy organization..

First, I started with my large pile ( I dumped all my jewelry on my bed)

Jewelry Dump

Then I separated them into categories:

  • Keep = these are the items that I wear, are in good condition,or I just purchased 😉
  • Say “Good Bye”= items that have been subjected to a hard life of wear, may be missing parts, or you clearly purchased while blinded.   You can donate and trash those broken, missing, etc.
  • Re-home = pretties that you don’t wear, but may be happier at a friend’s house where they will get proper wear.

TIP: As long as you have them separated, you know how many you have of each category, so you can chose the right storage solution.

Since I had outgrown my jewelry boxes, I decided to organize my lovelies this way:

  • I used my jewelry box for earrings. The one I picked up from Red Envelope  and it has pretty leaves and branches that can be used as ring holders, and it has a large drawer I used to store my watch collection.
  • Then, the bulk of my collection I decided to keep in my top dresser drawer.  I purchased clear organization trays from Target.

Clear trays
Then I stored them by color (golden, silver, pearl, pink, blue etc):

IMG_1180 IMG_1181 IMG_1183 IMG_1184

I am displaying my jewelry ideas, I hope they are inspiring.

2 Responses to “A Jewelry Addict’s Organization Tips”

  1. Stacey Bruce April 11, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    I love this and have a similar problem at home with my jewelry drawer which is a disaster! I am going to make this my spring project! Thanks!

    • MiUS Millie April 11, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

      I’m loving my new organized pretties! I even re-discovered some pieces.

Leave a Reply

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

Dru Christine : Hustle & Sew

"Passion fuels Champions"

Buy American Challenge

A Blog About Buying American and Why It's So Important. Official Blog of the Buy American Movement.

Lipstick and Anissa

A beauty and fashion blog for the sassy working girl.

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

The Ides of March

Inspiration for a fashionable life...

Rubys N Purls

Finding Life's Little Gems Along the Way!

verrrdeliving

Living an eco and fashionable life

All I Never Wanted To Be Was A Stay-At-Home Mom

Once growing in a career as a full-time marketing communications professional, now chasing my dream to build a freelance venture while juggling the art of being a stay-at-home-mom.

The Life Styled

Where life and fashion go hand in hand.

VINTAGE REFLECTION

By Amy Purfield-Clark

